Random thoughts - Navigating Uncertainties.

·

3 min read

This is my story, but it's a story that feels all too familiar to many young Nigerians - one that's filled with confusion, tears, and sleepless nights. It's heartbreaking to think that anyone would have to experience the pain of shattered dreams at such a young age, but unfortunately, it's a reality that so many of us have had to face. As a result, we've grown into broken adults who are constantly searching for our purpose once again.

I know that what I'm saying might seem bleak, but how can we make an ugly reality beautiful or even attempt to find a rhythm of beauty in a hopeless situation? Is it even possible? Despite the difficulties we face, we can't give up on trying to find the beauty in our lives.

This piece isn't just for me; it's for all those young children who once dreamed of being lawyers only to end up studying French instead. It's for the young Nightingales who became adult zoologists and for me - a young aeronautical engineer who's still trying to figure out where life will take me. But most importantly, it's for my brothers and sisters who struggle daily, giving everything they have to find a new path or retrace their old one. May we all find our way back to whatever feels like home. Amen.

As I sit here, memories of my secondary school days flood my mind, and I can't help but chuckle at some of the most beautiful moments I've ever experienced. It's worth noting that I went to three secondary schools, but that's a story for another day. Those were the times filled with hope, dreams, and faith in a future yet to come.

But when I got to the university, things changed. Why should I bear the weight of studying while constantly asking myself what I'm supposed to do after school? I didn't choose this path, and I have no plans for it. I often find myself crying myself to sleep because my life has taken a different turn, and it all feels like a strange story that I'm not quite aware of. Despite it being my life, I feel like I'm in the middle of it with no grip on what's to come. Nothing could have prepared me for this level of uncertainty.

Fast forward to the present, and it seems like my life is slowly coming together - or is it? I still experience moments of uncertainty, even though I've learned to trust God. Sometimes, I wonder if I genuinely like what I do or if there's something else I'm meant to do. I get so confused about the smallest things and spend days trying to figure out how I feel about where I am and where I want to be.

This letter is about everything and nothing at the same time. My hope is that it has sparked a range of emotions within you as you reflect on your own reality, your goals, aspirations, and dreams that may never come to fruition. While I know that these emotions can be overwhelming, I want you to know that our stories - yours and mine - are far from over. In fact, we're just getting started!

Although at a young age, many of us may have lost our footing, and even now, we struggle daily to find our place in the world. But one thing I'm certain of is that, even if it's not today, one day, we will look back, and everything will make more sense.

I'm rooting for you, and I believe that you will find the path that you're searching for. Keep pushing forward, and never give up on your dreams.

Keep in mind that even if you're not doing okay today, there will come a time when you will be fine again - and hopefully, that time is just around the corner. Hang in there, keep moving forward, and better days will come.